Uvongo Seniors Tennis Tournament a smashing success


The Uvongo Seniors Tennis Tournament served up terrific action at the weekend.

Fifty-six players from the South Coast, Mthatha, Lusikisiki, Newcastle, Richard’s Bay, Himeville and Durban participated in the two-day tournament at Uvongo Tennis Club.

On Saturday, the Bulldogs and Leopards emerged as the winning teams in the A section, while the Lions and Sharks triumphed over their respective opposition in the B section.

The winning teams played against each other on Sunday with the Bulldogs and the Lions winning their respective sections.

“It was great tennis and the players had a thrilling tournament between evenly matched teams,” said Uvongo Tennis Club vice-chairman Duncan Biggar.

“The president of KZN Seniors Tennis, Mr Dave Vincent, described the tournament as one of the best he had attended, not only because of the high standard of tennis, but also because of the good entertainment provided to the players by the local band, the Legends, on Saturday night.

“Even the weather co-operated by starting to rain only after the prize-giving. When the visitors left, they assured us that they will be back next year and despite the lack of water, they had had a fun time on our lovely coast,” he said.


Saturday, 4 November:

A Section:
Bulldogs 11 Cheetahs 77
Leopards 111 Griffons 78

B Section:
Lions 109 Pumas 80
Sharks 100 Stormers 89

Sunday, 5 November:

A Section:
Bulldogs 81 Leopards 86. Overall winners and runner ups
Cheetahs 86 Griffons 61

B Section:
Lions 75 Sharks 72 – Overall winners and runner ups
Pumas 74 Stormers 73

Uvongo Tennis Club president Howard Osborne (left) with B Section winners Louis van Zyl, Marian Walters, Gavin Bean, Lynette Shell (captain), Robert Kelly, Nwabisa Mpendu and Simone Hattingh, along with Peter Digby (Uvongo Tennis Club chairman) and Di Digby (Uvongo Tennis Club secretary).

Barrie Green and Maureen Davisworth about to take on Mwabisa Mpenu and Barry King.

Dave Vincent (in white under umbrella) addressing the players at the prize-giving.


About Author

Leave A Reply