SA’s best drifters relishing rare Dezzi Raceway south loop showdown


It all happened seven years back when Dezzi South Coast Raceway was in its infantile build; the place where the first ever purpose-built drift circuit came about and the place where the SupaDrift Series found its home.

The epitome of a drift spectacular with sensory overload poured over the top awaits KZN fans and as it happened way back then, so it is about to go down again on the 31 August and the 1 September.

The SupaDrift Series ‘sideways craze’ is the art of powersliding (drifting) a rear wheel drive vehicle through corners at ultra high speeds. A modern motorsport phenomenon, the SupaDrift Series events are geared for the whole family.

The South Coast skies will be smoke-trailed by the sideways motion of high-horse powered drift machines; and the summation of their pilot’s brilliance will set up the season thriller and humdinger!

Grassroots drifting will happen in the PRO1 class and it’s going to be brilliant motortainmment but the ultimate 1 on 1 drift battles will take place in the PRO class, scheduled to take place at Dezzi South Coast Raceway on the 1 September between 12pm and 5pm.

The Dragon Energy SupaDrift Series presented by Sun International and Achilles Tyres round five event will be one for the history books as the PRO’s are flocking in to once again, after a five-year gap, take on the South Loop.

The PRO Class see the likes of SA’s best drifters competing for bragging rights and place to claim their spot in the title run and rankings.

Recent top marque performances have been seen by drivers like Jonno van Eyssen (KZN) who qualified in first place in PE last month and similarly Chris Long (WC) who brings the Tyre-Fire from Cape Town and has capacity to ruffle the leaders in the Series feathers.

Standout top competitors in the 2018 season will also not be counted out, drivers like Puren brothers Gavin and Brendan from Margate, who have both made serious runs in the 2018 season will be formidable competitors amongst the leaders in the rankings at present, like Jason Webb (WC), Zanil Satar (Moz) and Jim McFarlane (Gau); all who are bringing their A-games to take home the bragging rights and stand on top of the podium.

The Championship leader, Webb, stated he was excited to go door to door with the other drifters and can’t wait for the end of the month…He boasts four from four wins in the 2018 SupaDrift Series Title pursuit.

eHowzit is giving away three pairs of double tickets to Saturday’s main race day. One of the winners will also win a suicide ride with a drift pro (at 9am on Saturday).

To enter, like the eHowzit Facebook page (click here), share and email your name and contact details to

Entries close on Wednesday at 16.00, and the winners will be announced on Thursday.

Luckily, if you could not make it to the event – you are able to catch up on the livestream via

For more information visit or follow the series on Facebook: SupaDrift Series and Twitter: @SupaDriftseries #supadrift

Photo: Local drifter, Gavin Puren. (Darren Townsley/SupaFly Media and Design)


About Author

Leave A Reply