Currie Cup Preview: Round One


The domestic rugby scene will move up a gear from Friday as the Currie Cup – proudly sponsored by Nashua and Direct Axis – kicks off what promises to be more than two months’ top-class action between the best seven provincial teams in the country.

The opening clash of the 2018 season will be in Nelspruit, where the iCOLLEGE Pumas will host Tafel Lager Griquas at 17h00, while the Toyota Free State Cheetahs and Vodacom Blue Bulls will meet in Bloemfontein at 19h00.

Defending champions, DHL Western Province, 2017 runners-up, the Cell C Sharks, and the Xerox Golden Lions have byes this weekend. But all the teams are fully aware that every match will count this season, as they battle it out in a gripping single round, which will culminate in the semi-finals and final on consecutive Saturdays, 20 and 27 October respectively.

The iCOLLEGE Pumas and Tafel Lager Griquas, who were involved in a pulsating SuperSport Rugby Challenge Final recently, have met in the Currie Cup Premier Division 22 times dating back to 1997, with the Nelspruit side winning only eight of those encounters. But they will be determined to make the most of their home ground advantage on Friday.

The last three clashes between the sides were closely-fought, with the biggest winning margin six points, which will set the scene for a gripping battle at the Mbombela Stadium.

The iCOLLEGE Pumas team will feature Marnus Schoeman, who was a member of the Emirates Lions Vodacom Super Rugby squad, in what will mark his 30th match for the side and his first appearance in the jersey in 20 months. Stefan Ungerer and Chris Smith will dictate play in the halfback pairing.

The Tafel Lager Griquas named a settled squad featuring several experienced campaigners, including George Whitehead, Ederies Arendse and AJ Coertzen, while Godfrey Ramaboea (wing) and Kwezi Mkhafu (hooker) will make their debuts at this level, along with Junior Springbok scrumhalf Zak Burger, if he takes to the field from the bench.

In Bloemfontein, the Toyota Free State Cheetahs will look to make a strong opening statement after losing out on a semi-final berth last season. This is a replay of the 2016 final, which the Free Staters won 36-16.

But the Vodacom Blue Bulls will draw inspiration from their 64-36 victory against the Free Staters in Bloemfontein last season, and the fact they have won three of the last six outings between the teams at that venue.

The Toyota Free State Cheetahs team feature three Springboks, Oupa Mohoje, Rudy Paige and Ox Nche, while replacement hooker Jacques du Toit will play his 50th match for the team.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls also named a squad featuring several Vodacom Super Rugby players and capped Junior Springboks, which will be led by Hanro Liebenberg.

Thembelani Bholi (flank) will make his Vodacom Blue Bulls debut in the starting team, while Theo Maree and Earll Dowrie could make their Currie Cup debuts off the bench.

Currie Cup Premier Division Round 1 fixtures (Friday, 17 August)

iCOLLEGE Pumas v Tafel Lager Griquas

Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit

Kick-off: 17h00

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge

Assistant Referees: Ricus van der Hoven and Des van Wyk

TMO: Shaun Veldsman


Prediction: iCOLLEGE Pumas by seven.

Pumas – 15 Gerrit Smith, 14 JP Lewis, 13 Ryan Nell, 12 Hennie Skorbinski (c), 11 Neil Maritz, 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Kwezi Mona.
Subs: 16 Frankie Herne, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 Jeandré Rudolph, 20 Reynier van Rooyen, 21 Justin van Staden, 22 Trompie Pretorius.

Griquas – 15 AJ Coertzen, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Kyle Steyn (c), 12 Christopher Bosch, 11 Godfrey Ramaboea, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Conway Pretorius, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Wendal Wehr, 5 FP Pelser, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 Khwezi Mkhafu, 1 Devon Martinus.
Subs: 16 AJ Le Roux, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Ruan Kramer, 19 Pieter Van Vuren, 20 Izak Burger, 21 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 22 Andre Swarts.

Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Vodacom Blue Bulls

Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein

Kick-off: 19h00

Referee: Dan Jones

Assistant Referees: Ben Crouse and Jaco Kotze

TMO: Lourens van der Merwe


Prediction:Toyota Free State Cheetahs by eight.

FS Cheetahs – 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Nico Lee, 11 William Small-Smith, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Oupa Mohoje (c), 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 JP du Preez, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche
Subs: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Erich de Jager, 18 Günther Janse van Vuuren, 19 Dennis Visser, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Louis Fouché.

Blue Bulls – 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Jade Stighling, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 JT Jackson, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Hanro Liebenberg (c), 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Conrad van Vuuren, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Matthys Basson.
Subs: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 Hendre Stassen, 19 Jano Venter, 20 Theo Maree, 21 Tony Jantjies, 22 Earll Douwrie.


About Author

Leave A Reply